Faculty News

Faculty in the news

Hui-Chen Lu, Gill Chair and Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, was featured on Inside Higher Ed’s Academic Minute podcast on May 5, 2017. She talked about her research on the role of caffeine in possibly helping to stave off dementia.

Listen to the podcast

Jon Racek, Visiting Lecturer in the School of Art and Design, was featured in IU News for his role in creating a customized 3-D-printed prosthetic arm for a 9-year-old girl who was born without one.

Read the story 

David Landy, Assistant Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, has been referenced in several places recently, including an article about risk perception that appeared in The Conversation, an online science magazine primarily authored by scientists. Landy was also cited in “How to Understand Extreme Numbers,” in the popular science online magazine Nautilus, and in an April 1 Wall Street Journal article.

In January, Phoebe Wolfskill, Assistant Professor of African American & African Diaspora Studies discussed the art of the civil rights movement for the IU Asian Cultural Center’s “Over a Cup of Tea” program, in conjunction with the center’s MLK celebration.

Maria E. Hamilton Abegunde, Visiting Lecturer in African American & African Diaspora Studies, presented her poetry for the Fountain Square Poetry Series, in February, at the Fountain Square Mall atrium.


From the National Science Foundation to Stephen Bernard and Youngjoo Cha in Sociology for Labor Market Outcomes for Asian Men and Women in the United States.

From the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to Yan Yu in Chemistry for Nanomaterial-Enabled Biophysics of the Immune System.

From the U.S. Army Research Office to Brian Yanites in Earth and Atmospheric Sciences for Quantifying rock strength from river channel morphology.